• angiespoto

Publishing Opportunities for Fantasy & Folklore Writers

Updated: Sep 20

I know from personal experience that it can be quite tricky to find places to publish speculative fiction in all its weird and wonderfulness. A lot of presses accept fantasy, horror and folk tales alongside other types of writing, but I tend not to have as much success submitting my speculative work to these places. To alleviate that, here’s a list of online and in print literary anthologies and presses that are dedicated to publishing fantasy, horror, folk tales, and speculative stories.


Corvid Queen - https://corvidqueen.com/

An online journal of feminist fairy tales, folklore, and myths.


Crow & Cross Keys - https://crowcrosskeys.com/

A new, online literary journal that “seeks to be a haven for all things speculative.” They publish fairy tales, fables, horror, gothic and weird fiction and poetry.


Cunning Folk -https://www.cunning-folk.com/

An independent magazine about magic, folklore, mythology and the occult. They publish non-fiction pieces in their print magazine and occasionally do a call out for fiction submissions online.


Extra Teeth - https://www.extrateeth.co.uk/

A Scottish magazine with an international outlook that “offer[s] a space for writers to be strange, bold and experimental, and to express their unique style however they see fit.”


Fairy Tale Review -https://www.fairytalereview.com/

An annual journal of contemporary fairy tales.


Fudoki Magazine -https://fudokimagazine.com/

An online magazine of myths, legends, fables, fantasy, folklore, and fairy tales.


Haunt Publishing - https://www.hauntpublishing.com/

Book publisher of gothic, horror, and dark fiction.


Hexagon Magazine - https://hexagonmagazine.ca/

An online magazine “created to take our readers to fantastic worlds and to meet incredible characters. We specialize in the weird, the wondrous, and the whimsical!”


Luna Press Publishing - https://www.lunapresspublishing.com/

An award-winning independent UK press that publishes speculative fiction, science fiction, fantasy, and dark fantasy, in both fiction and academia.


New Gothic Review - https://newgothicreview.com/

An online, bi-annual literary magazine for modern gothic and weird short fiction.





Angie Spoto is an American fiction writer and poet living in Edinburgh. In 2020, she completed a PhD in Creative Writing at the University of Glasgow. Her doctoral thesis was a fantasy novel, called The Grief Nurse, and a collection of essays on grief, madness and language. The Grief Nurse has been shortlisted for the First Novel Prize 2021 and The Bridge Awards Emerging Writer Award in 2020. Angie is represented by Robbie Guillory from Kate Nash Literary Agency.





211 views0 comments